Picnic-ready mini pies!

I’m a huge fan of the muffin tin. Muffin tins rock for making appetizers in wonton cups, mini quiches, …muffins, and more recently in my life, mini-pies!

I made pumpkin cheesecake bites last winter. They were easy, and instead of making a few pies to bring to work, Brian’s family and my family, I just made a batch and a half of one recipe. It probably cut the time in half!

This summer, for a picnic at Inwood Hill Park, I  made mini mixed berry pies.

First, I found a recipe for pie filling. I used frozen berries,and it worked splendidly. Added some lemon zest, lemon juice and ginger. The ginger really kicked it up! Any pie filling would work, really.

Then I had to deal with the pie crust in muffin tins. That part was tricky. I just used a regular store-bought piecrust mix and experimented with shaping into the tin. This took some more time than I had anticipated, but I’m sure I’ll cut that down with practice. After baking at 375 for 10-15 minutes (I used this blog for guidance, and just checked starting at 10 minutes), I let them cool and slowly pulled them out of the muffin tin with a knife.

As you can see, they’re not perfect-looking. What you don’t know is how yummy they are.

I froze the left-over pie filling. Round 2 should be even better!

(I’m on Instagram: http://instagr.am/p/MM0WdqwJVn/)

Tags:

About cicutoface

Canadian transplant in Inwood, New York City. Community Manager at House Party, a WOM marketing company. Owns a chinchilla. Voluntarily takes on too much work to help anything from pop-punk bands to homeless dogs. Learning to cook and live well.

Leave a Reply

